Saleen Says: Zoo Praha!

I finally went to the zoo in Prague last week. I needed to go because I am including it in my “36 Hours” piece. I wanted to check it out, see what kinds of activities they have for children, and also indulge my inner-child a bit.

Tips for going to the Prague Zoo:

  1. If you’re taking smaller children, get one of their free wagons or strollers, or bring your own. The zoo is huge. I can only imagine what it’s like for little ones to walk around the entire property.
  2. The easiest ways to get there are steamboat, ferry, or a combination of the metro and the bus. If you want to take the metro/bus route, get off the metro at Nádraží Holešovice on the C (or red) line, then take bus number 112. For more information on Prague’s metro system, visit Czech-transport.com.

We had so much fun! We didn’t get to see everything because we had work to do back at the hotel, but I really enjoyed seeing their exhibits, some of which were very different from the ones I’ve seen in Virginia, DC, and Georgia. They actually have a free-flying bat exhibit where visitors can walk around while bats have free rein to fly over your head and around you. I’m not sure if younger children would like this (I guess it depends on the kid), but I loved it.

Also, we saw one of the most beautiful animals I’ve ever laid eyes on: the maned wolf. My friend pointed it out because of its size. When I looked up and saw it, I couldn’t believe my eyes. I’ve never seen a fox or wolf-like animal with such long limbs. It was also a bit scary. I couldn’t imagine being chased down by one of them (my mind automatically goes to dark places).

I took a photo of my own, but not a very good one because it was pretty far away and turned in the opposite direction. Here’s one from the The Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute’s (SCBI) website though.

Snow

According to SCBI, the maned wolf is about three feet tall and weighs about 50 pounds, and eats fruits and vegetables, as well as small mammals like rodents, rabbits, and insects. Although it resembles a fox and even has “wolf” in its name, the maned wolf  is neither a fox nor a true wolf.

It is the largest canid of South America, and is the only member of its genus, Chrysocyon.

Talk about being a lone wolf.

Other attractions

The zoo also has a chair lift that overlooks the zoo. It’s a short ride and costs CZK 25. I enjoyed that part a lot because it gave me a much-needed break.

There’s also a playground with slides and a little rock-climbing wall, and a sandbox where kids can search for fossils! There are tons of restaurants as well, so make sure you stop by one of them for some ice cream, salads, sandwiches, drinks, and other snacks.

I must say, going to the zoo made me wish my family had joined me. I know my niece would’ve loved it. The zoo in Virginia is nice, but Zoo Praha has so much more to see. I guess that’s all the more reason to come back.

Please enjoy some of the photos I took during my visit to Zoo Praha!

Leave a Reply

